About Alberta’s Election Commissioner

The Election Commissioner is an independent officer of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta. It is the job of the Election Commissioner to ensure compliance with and enforcement of the Election Act and the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act. Non-compliance and enforcement matters relating to municipal or federal elections do not fall within the Election Commissioner's jurisdiction.

Generally speaking, the Election Commissioner's role involves investigation and determination of what type of penalty or corrective action is required when the law has been violated.

Recent amendments to the Election Act and the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act  created the position of Election Commissioner and outlined his responsibilities.  The Election Commissioner assumes responsibilities for enforcement that were previously within the mandate of the Chief Electoral Officer. 

The Election Commissioner is appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council under section 153.01 of the Election Act. The Lieutenant Governor in Council makes the appointment following a recommendation of the Legislative Assembly. The Election Commissioner  operates independently from the Alberta government and his authority is separate from that of the Chief Electoral Officer.

Office of the Election Commissioner

Box 115, 10011-109th St.

Edmonton, AB

T5J 3S8

780-886-1656 or toll free 1-833-232-6487


The Election Commissioner: Lorne R. Gibson

Lorne Gibson was Alberta’s 5th Chief Electoral Officer from June 2006 to March 2009 and was previously the Deputy Chief Electoral Officer of Elections Manitoba. Mr. Gibson has been working in the election field as an election administrator and an election management consultant for the past 20 years.  He is a recognized expert in the area of election law enforcement.  Lorne Gibson has been a public representative on the Discipline Committee of the Manitoba Law Society from 2009 to 2018 and a member of the Appeals Committee for the College of Registered Nurses of Manitoba from 2010 to 2017.

Salary Disclosure